Hello I’m a lorry driver over thirty years I’ve done all sorts of haulage jobs but never livestock which is

Share ideas, best practices, ask questions. No ads here.
PrinceWay

Hello I’m a lorry driver over thirty years I’ve done all sorts of haulage jobs but never livestock which is

Post by PrinceWay »

Hello I’m a lorry driver over thirty years I’ve done all sorts of haulage jobs but never livestock which is interesting me now I’m looking for info on what the job entails and the experience needed to possibly find myself getting into doing this work thanks..
EEvans

Re: Hello I’m a lorry driver over thirty years I’ve done all sorts of haulage jobs but never livestock which is

Post by EEvans »

Maybe find a local livestock haulier who you could go out with and learn the job. It’s not an easy job to do, as you got to be a good driver a good herdsman and good with paperwork.
NeiMo

Re: Hello I’m a lorry driver over thirty years I’ve done all sorts of haulage jobs but never livestock which is

Post by NeiMo »

It’s not for the faint hearted. Most big companies have lifting deckers now so not much crawling about in sh*t. But still many older trailers about. Need to be fit. Never trust an animal . Even if the farmers says oh it’s lovely. Usually means it’s a dick of a thing. Always have an escape route don’t corner your self in. As regards to the livestock transportation certificate it’s an easy enough task. Common sense you should be ok.
Stevento

Post by Stevento »

Be prepared for being out in all weather's getting covered in water, straw, sawdust, sh*t, piss and whatever else might be in the area. If you get on well you'll never find a better job. Plenty of early mornings and late nights and working most days. Not very often you'll have bank holidays or a full weekend off. Best job in the world though👌
Iantino

Post by Iantino »

The old saying was you can make a stockman into a driver alot harder to make a driver into a stockman
Tubbyer

Post by Tubbyer »